IAM Logo
0845 009 5399

Our Annual Awards Events

CANAM Awards Evening 2012

This year the Annual Awards Evening was held in the Le Mans Suite at Bentley Motors in Crewe on Friday 20th April. There was a good turnout from Members and Friends including many familiar faces as well as some new ones. Attendees were treated to two wonderful talks by Phil Edwards, former Police Motorcycle Instructor, and our very own committee member and Cheshire Police Officer, Tony Hayhurst.

The two speakers were extremely knowledgeable in their subject areas, and the two presentations were very interesting and informative.

Tony had also brought along one of the Cheshire Police traffic cars, which he parked on the patio just outside the Le Mans Suite. Everyone who attended the Awards Evening was able to look round the car and hear Tony explain how all the technology and gadgets worked, including turning the blue lights and siren on a couple of times!

The evening then concluded with the presentation of this year's awards.

Young Associate of the Year: Winner - James Croxford
  Runner Up - Sophie Molley
Associate of the Year: Winner - Mike Spiers
  Runner Up - Richard Bleasdale
Observer of the Year: Winner - Rick Appleton
  Runner Up - Paul Fildes

There was also a special award presented to Tom Poole for his commitment and contribution over the years to Crewe and Nantwich Advanced Motorists as a previous committee member as well as being our current President and an Observer. Tom was presented with a trophy by the Ian Hughes and received a round of applause as thanks for his contribution.

Preparations are already well underway for next year's Awards Evening. Look out in the next issue of the newsletter for the date of the 2013 Awards Evening and information on the speakers.

Awards 2012 - Photo Gallery